National Junior Honor Society 2014-2015 Officers Elected
President: Khirsten Bell
Vice President: Aiden Boehm 
Secretary: Naomi Ferenczy
Treasurer: Rachael Steinke

CA Middle School Spotlight

Headlines & News (click on titles below for more information)

  • Surface Tension and Cohesion

    5th graders learn about surface tension and cohesion during a science lab using pennies, soap and water.

    Comments (-1)
  • 6th Graders take field trip to Acra Agroforestry at the Acra Nature Preserve

    A day spent learning about nature, our environment and what they can do to protect the natural world around them.

    Comments (-1)
  • Coxsackie P.A.L. Winter Clothing Drive On Now (click for drop off locations)

    Looking for lightly loved, used or new coats, hats, gloves/mittens and winter boots so we can help children and families in the Coxsackie-Athens District keep warm this winter! Collections begin on October 1, 2014. Distribution will begin on November 1, 2014.

    Comments (-1)
  • The Coxsackie-Athens Foundation for Education 2014 Wall Of Honor Gala (Click for more Info.)

    Tickets on sale now for the Saturday October 25th event.

    Comments (-1)
  • Due to a District Wide Phone Issue Homework Hotline and School/Staff Voice Mail are temporarily unavailable.

    The district is working with our vendor to fix the problem as quickly as possible. Please use 518-731-1851 to contact the Middle School Main Office.

    Comments (-1)
  • The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards. Application Deadline November 4, 2014

    The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards is a nationwide program for young people in grades 5-12 who are volunteering in their communities. The program is conducted on the local level through public and private middle level and high schools across the United States and through these officially designated local organizations: • Girl Scout councils • County 4-H organizations • American Red Cross chapters • YMCAs • Affiliates of HandsOn Network Students must apply online or fill out a paper application, and then submit their applications to a school or one of above-mentioned organizations for certification in order to be considered for the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards at the state and national level. Please encourage students to apply. The application and additional information can be found at The deadline for application is November 4, 2014.

    Comments (-1)
  • Mrs. Seekamp's 6th Grade Scientists Hard at Work

    6th Grade Scientists started out the school year by conducting their first lab in a quest to discover "How does soil particle size and texture affect how quickly water passes through it?"

    Comments (-1)
  • Students in Mrs. McIlroy's 5th Grade Social Studies Class Learn about September 11th

    Students in Mrs. McIlroy's social studies class learned about 9/11 by focusing on being "community helpers," and wrote thank you cards for the emergency/ first responders in our community. They also wrote down their ideas for ways they can remember 9/11 by contributing something positive to our community in response.

    Comments (-1)
  • Grade 5 Fundraiser "Phoneraiser"

    What is a "Phoneraiser"? A "Phoneraiser" is a great way to raise money, with no products to order, no sales to make, and nothing to deliver! Fifth graders are collecting old cell phones that are just gathering dust, to be recycled in exchange for money that will be used toward field trips. It's a great way to help raise some money and help protect the environment at the same time! (click to learn more)

    Comments (-1)
  • New Members of the NJHS Recognized

    The Coxsackie-Athens National Junior Honor Society recognizes outstanding middle level students at the end of every year. More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Character, and Citizenship. This year’s induction of new members included: From the 8th grade: Kramer Brooks From the 7th grade: Matthew Knaust and Lauryn Williams From the 6th grade: Noah Bartels, Aiden Boehm, Darian Briody, Kaliana Burnell, Kacey Chamberlin, Mackenzie Dekle, Kenna Doyle, Chloe Fandozzi, Naomi Ferenczy, Jillian Fitzgerald, Jayda Griffin, Lauren Higgins, Carly Isabelle, Abby Keating, Bailey Keating, Julia Manns, Austen McDonald, Julia Munn, Gianna Pascuzzi, Lindsey Penet, Ashley Schoenborn, Alexandra Sutherland,Jordan Towns, Nicholas Tryon, Lydia Valentino and Warren White. Congratulations to these new members!

    Comments (-1)
  • more